Georgetownrose

from glory to glory…

Morning Glory…

morning-skies

Journaling is a luxury for me. As a wife, spousal caregiver and homemaker, my days usually begin with time alone with the Lord in the Word of God and in prayer. And I often find things that I want to write about and shout from the rooftops; but I do not always find the time to put them to paper. This morning, although the day promises to be filled with many commitments which demand that my little grey cells focus far away from my keyboard journal, I found something clear and brilliant and wonderful to write down from this morning’s Daily Office in the Book of Common Prayer…

The Scripture passages from this morning’s Daily Office in the Book of Common Prayer are in the following link: Jeremiah 18.1-11; John 6.27-40; Romans 8.1-11; Psalm 101; 109

On the link site, you will find a menu from which to choose other translations and also options for study…

Here is the common thread:

The instant I speak concerning a nation and concerning a kingdom, to pluck up, to pull down, and to destroy it, if that nation against whom I have spoken turns from its evil, I will relent of the disaster that I thought to bring upon it. And the instant I speak concerning a nation and concerning a kingdom, to build and to plant it, if it does evil in My sight so that it does not obey My voice, then I will relent concerning the good with which I said I would benefit it. Now therefore, speak to the men of Judah and to the inhabitants of Jerusalem, saying, ‘Thus says the Lord: “Behold, I am fashioning a disaster and devising a plan against you. Return now every one from his evil way, and make your ways and your doings good”.'”

–Jeremiah 18.7-11

‘Do not labor for the food which perishes, but for the food which endures to everlasting life, which the Son of Man will give you, because God the Father has set His seal on Him.’ Then they said to Him, ‘What shall we do, that we may work the works of God?’  Jesus answered and said to them, ‘This is the work of God, that you believe in Him whom He sent… For I have come down from heaven, not to do My own will, but the will of Him who sent Me’.

–John 6.27-29,38

There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has made me free from the law of sin and death. For what the law could not do in that it was weak through the flesh, God did by sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh, on account of sin: He condemned sin in the flesh, that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us who do not walk according to the flesh but according to the Spirit. For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit...Because the carnal mind is enmity against God; for it is not subject to the law of God, nor indeed can be. So then, those who are in the flesh cannot please God.

–Romans 8.1-5,7-8

In this season of Lent, I take the warning and the Remedy of Grace seriously: to turn from laboring for “food that perishes,” and to “labor for the food which endures to everlasting life…” 

To become increasingly “subject to the Law (or Will) of God,” which, apparently, is the work of the Holy Spirit in my dusty existence…

 My little grey cells have much to consider and ponder today while I come and go at the work God has ordained for me this side of Heaven…

In the Psalms are praises and prophetic testimonies of two great wonders: 1) the sure work of the Holy Spirit in the life of one who believes in the Lord Messiah Jesus by God’s great mercy and the justice the Messiah Jesus bore in His own pure and sinless body; and 2) the sure “evil” that the LORD God will bring upon the persistently hateful of Messiah and their perverse cruelty in the world by God’s great justice…

I will sing of mercy and justice; to You, O LORD, I will sing praises.

–Psalm 101.1

For now, I simply lay it out in this day’s journal, praying for a heart to be willing and responsive to the same obedience as my Lord Jesus Christ, the One whom the Father has sent, the One whom I know is Lord: not to do my own will, but to do the will of the One who has loved me and saved me by His grace… 


 

Blessed are those whose labors are quickened by the work of the Holy Spirit in them through faith in Messiah Jesus, the Lord. Pray for those who are yet being trapped in the labors of their own will, who falsely accuse Messiah Jesus, and who are in danger of the “great disaster” spoken by Jeremiah… for such a time as this…  And…

 Pray for the peace of Jerusalem…

For the LORD has chosen Zion; He has desired it for His dwelling place: ‘This is My resting place forever…I will also clothe her priests with salvation, and her saints shall shout aloud for joy…”

…Psalm 132.6


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

