Georgetownrose

from glory to glory…

Morning Glory…

morning-skies

It is actually afternoon here, but I got up a bit later today; but it is morning somewhere on the planet, even as I write this…

It is winter again; the Ides of March…frigid and blustery outside, with about an inch or so of a crusty mix of snow and sleet lying all over a courtyard which, only days ago, was eager for Spring…

God has been abundantly merciful to us, seeing that others in our country–even in many places around the world–have experienced the wrath of God displayed from the earth beneath and the firmament above… One minute they had their comfy couch with their wide-screen and remote, and the next minute they don’t have a pot to piss in… I speak as one who enjoys the familiar comforts of home, and who mourns with those who have lost homes and livelihoods and loved ones by wind, water, fire, quake and war…

Just goes to show how quickly life can change on planet earth…  What’s the “Next Big Thing?” The morning’s readings from the Daily Office for today–the Ides of March–speak somewhat to this expectation of things which we wish we could control, but, for all our machinations and ideas and engineerings, are still beyond the grasp of our control…

The Scripture passages from this morning’s Daily Office in the Book of Common Prayer are in the following link: Psalm 119.97-120; Jeremiah 8.18-9.6; John 8.12-20; Romans 5.1-11

On the link site, you will find a menu from which to choose other translations and also options for study…

I have not yet researched how these daily readings were compiled and set in order for the clergy and laity alike. What I have observed in the studies is that there is a thread woven throughout the Scripture readings–a thematic thread. The readings for this day are more of a braided cord of what I found to be six strands: grief/judgment/trembling/peace/joy/glory…

In this season of Lent, and as I look into the Word of God against the backdrop of what I have seen in the world around me and the historical legends of the Ides of March, I am seeing a calling to be clothed further with an unshakeable peace and joy, even if mingled with grief and trembling  before the coming of “The Next Big Thing.” …

In our 21st Century culture, whatever upsets or frustrates a person is something to be publicly protested and a political action committee mobilized as a “savior” to stamp it out… Unfortunately, the tide has turned in our times to mobilize political action against the Truth of the Word of God and the Salvation of the Lord Jesus Christ found in it; the popular movement in our day is to replace the Word of God with what passes for tolerance, while false savior(s) feed upon the deceitfulness and establish the New World Order …

‘Why have they provoked Me to anger with their carved  images—with foreign idols… And like their bow they have bent their tongues for lies. They are not valiant for the truth on the earth. For they proceed from evil to evil, and they do not know Me,’ says the LORD‘they have taught their tongue to speak lies; they weary themselves to commit iniquity. Your dwelling place is in the midst of deceit; through deceit they refuse to know Me,’ says the LORD…”

“Is there no balm in Gilead, is there no physician there? Why then is there no recovery for the health of the daughter of my people? Oh, that my head were waters, and my eyes a fountain of tears, that I might weep day and night for the slain of the daughter of my people! Oh, that I had in the wilderness a lodging place for travelers; that I might leave my people, and go from them! for they are all adulterers, an assembly of treacherous men.”

Jeremiah 8.19; 9.3,5-6; 8.22-9.2

If I were more willing to embrace the grief that my soul feels on a daily basis about the falsehoods and deceits in this culture and the coming New World Order, would that grief destroy my hope? If my soul were clothed more fully with a godly trembling at the expectation of the judgment to come, would I come undone in panic and lose all peace?  Without the Truth of the Word of God it would; I’ve been there–to the precipice of panic and despair and have seen the black abyss–and back again. (That is another story.) Christ Jesus has authenticated His credentials as Sovereign King over all things–even all the tribulations of life and in the outworking of “The Next Big Thing” in the “Father’s Business” (see Luke 2.49).

I hate the double-minded, but I love Your law. You are my hiding place and my shield; I hope in Your word. Depart from me, you evildoers, for I will keep the  commandments of my God! Uphold me according to Your word, that I may live; and do not let me be ashamed of my hope. Hold me up, and I shall be safe, and I shall observe Your statutes continually. You reject all those who stray from Your statutes, for their deceit is falsehood. You put away all the wicked of the earth like dross; therefore I love Your testimonies. My flesh trembles for fear of You, and I am afraid of Your judgments…”

–Psalm 119.113-120;

Oh, how I love Your law! It is my meditation all the day… You, through Your commandments, make me wiser than my enemies; for they are ever with me. I have more understanding than all my teachers, for Your testimonies are my meditation…How sweet are Your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth! Through Your precepts I get understanding; therefore I hate every false way. Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. I have sworn and confirmed that I will keep Your righteous judgments. I am afflicted very much; revive me, O LORD, according to Your word…  My life is continually in my hand, yet I do not forget Your law… Your testimonies I have taken as a heritage forever, for they are the rejoicing of my heart. I have inclined my heart to perform Your statutes forever, to the very end.”

–Psalm 119. 97-112

In last Sunday’s class, I was given the passage from Luke 2.40-52 to share with my wee students in pre-school through 1st grade. While sharing with them the glimpse of glory in the young Jesus’ understanding and commitment to carry out His Father’s Business, they asked me a profound question about Jesus’ life inside a boy’s body–living with parents and siblings who were not perfect: “If Jesus is God, why couldn’t Jesus just make His parents and siblings understand everything about Him right away?” Because Jesus–all the fullness of the Godhead in the body of a young boy, was in full agreement with the Father and the Holy Spirit about the Father’s Business:  living the appointed moment at the appropriate time–trusting the Father for the next “big thing.” His griefs were mingled with joy; His tribulations were mingled with peace…

Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, ‘I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.’ The Pharisees therefore said to Him, ‘You bear witness of Yourself; Your witness is not true.’ Jesus answered and said to them, ‘Even if I bear witness of Myself, My witness is true, for I know where I came from and where I am going; but you do not know where I come from and where I am going. You judge according to the flesh; I judge no one. And yet if I do judge, My judgment is true; for I am not alone, but I am with the Father who sent Me. It is also written in your law that the testimony of two men is true. I am One who bears witness of Myself, and the Father who sent Me bears witness of Me.’ Then they said to Him, ‘Where is Your Father?’ Jesus answered, ‘You know neither Me nor My Father. If you had known Me, you would have known My Father also.’ These words Jesus spoke in the treasury, as He taught in the temple; and no one laid hands on Him, for His hour had not yet come.”

–John 8.12-20

All the extraordinary threads have been fulfilled in the Lord Jesus Christ–His heart grieved as Jeremiah’s did at the false ways, the hardened hearts… His yearning for His hour to come, the judgment hour which would be the hour of peace–though with trembling and grief, also with joy and glory of God the Father…

And so, for Lent, I’m giving up all traces of despair, hopelessness and impatience… While I do yearn for “The Next Big Thing”, the hour of trembling and peace, of grief and joy–and glory… and while I yearn for it as a child eager for the fulfillment to come and the tribulations to pass, I live out the Father’s Business with the Lord Jesus Christ in my dusty existence…the appointed moment for the appropriate time…

…through [the Lord Jesus Christ]…we have access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God. And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope… And not only that, but we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received the reconciliation.”

–Romans 5.2-4,11

Because…

…Having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ…the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us… when we were still without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly… God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Much more then, having now been justified by His blood, we shall be saved from wrath through Him…  if when we were enemies we were reconciled to God through the death of His Son, much more, having been reconciled, we shall be saved by His life.”

–Romans 5.1,5,6,8-10


Blessed are those who walk by faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. Pray for those who are yet being led by false saviors, who dwell in the midst of deceit, walking on the edge of the precipice of the abyss of black despair… for such a time as this…  And…

 Pray for the peace of Jerusalem…

For the LORD has chosen Zion; He has desired it for His dwelling place: ‘This is My resting place forever…I will also clothe her priests with salvation, and her saints shall shout aloud for joy…”

…Psalm 132.6


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

