Georgetownrose

from glory to glory…

Morning Glory…

morning-skies

Being clothed further with worship and witness…giving up shame and timidity and misplaced “pity” for Lent…

Oh come, let us sing to the LORD! Let us shout joyfully to the Rock of our salvation. Let us come before His presence with thanksgiving; let us shout joyfully to Him with psalms. For the LORD is the great God, and the great King above all gods…”

–Psalm 95.1-3

…’We have found the Messiah…’

–John 1.41

In You, O LORD, I put my trust; let me never be ashamed…You have redeemed me, O LORD God of truth. I have hated those who regard useless idols; but I trust in the LORD. I will be glad and rejoice in Your mercy, for You have considered my trouble; You have known my soul in adversities, and have not shut me up into the hand of the enemy; You have set my feet in a wide place… I am a reproach among all my enemies, but especially among my neighbors, and am repulsive to my acquaintances; those who see me outside flee from me…But as for me, I trust in You, O LORD; I say, ‘You are my God.’ My times are in Your hand…”

–Psalm 31.1,5-8,11,14-15

Oh come, let us worship and bow down; let us kneel before the LORD our Maker. For He is our God, and we are the people of His pasture, and the sheep of His hand.”

–Psalm 95.6-7

…’We have found the Messiah…’

–John 1.41

Speak these things, exhort, and rebuke with all authority. Let no one despise you.”

–Titus 2.15 …

Then it shall come to pass, because you listen to these judgments, and keep and do them, that the LORD your God will keep with you the covenant and the mercy which He swore to your fathers. And He will love you…and the LORD will take away from you all sickness, and will afflict you with none of the terrible diseases of Egypt which you have known, but will lay them on all those who hate you. Also you shall destroy[1] all the peoples whom the LORD your God delivers over to you; your eye shall have no pity[2] on them; nor shall you serve their gods, for that will be a snare to you.”

–Deuteronomy 7.12-13,15-16

…’We have found the Messiah.’

–John 1.41

Speak these things, exhort, and rebuke with all authority. Let no one despise you.”

–Titus 2.15 …

Today, if you will hear His voice: ‘Do not harden your hearts, as in the rebellion, as in the day of trial in the wilderness, when your fathers tested Me; they tried Me, though they saw My work. For forty years I was grieved with that generation, and said, “It is a people who go astray in their hearts, and they do not know My ways.” So I swore in My wrath, “They shall not enter My rest.”

–Psalm 95.7b-11

…’We have found the Messiah.’

–John 1.41


[1] pity: the Hebrew word for “regard” and “sparing;” knowing the only true and living God compels us who know the Truth to tell the Truth without reservation or reticence or “pity” for the false gods of this world. Withholding the Truth is not love; it is shame…inappropriate, misplaced pity…

[2]destroy (consume, KJV): the Hebrew word for “devour;” the only way to destroy/consume/devour what is false is to continually hold up the Truth. Granted, the God who called Israel at that moment in eternity had ordained the time of judgment on the rebellious without mincing or delay. Now, “…We have found the Messiah…” And our calling is not to carnal weapons in the matter of judging what is false; the calling of those who have found the Messiah is to speak what is Truth into this world without shame or reticence or stammering or halting at any form of hostility…

Blessed be the LORD, for He has shown me His marvelous kindness in a strong city…Oh, love the LORD, all you His saints! For the LORD preserves the faithful, and fully repays the proud person. Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart, all you who hope in the LORD.”

–Psalm 31.21,23-24


Here is a link to view the passages of this morning’s adventure into timeless glory from the Daily Office in the Book of Common Prayer: Scripture Passages in NKJV

On this link, you may also find a menu from which to choose alternate translations…


So I don’t care about your little gods; but I do care about you. You were made by and for the only true and living God. No other god in this world has provided, with His righteous judgment, The Way of reconciliation and Life for those who offend Him and rebel against Him. All other gods heap upon their sad slaves burdens of human striving to appease them with no assurance of satisfaction…

Blessed are those who walk by faith in the Lord Jesus Christ, for their dusty vessels are being further clothed with Truth and the courage to speak it…To speak the Truth into a world of gods who will only destroy the humanity created and meant to know the glory of the only true and living God–for such a time as this…

Pray for those who are in danger of being destroyed by false gods of this world; pray for those who have yet to find the Messiah. And…

Pray for the peace of Jerusalem…

For the LORD has chosen Zion; He has desired it for His dwelling place: ‘This is My resting place forever…I will also clothe her priests with salvation, and her saints shall shout aloud for joy…”

…Psalm 132.6


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

