Georgetownrose

from glory to glory…

Morning Glory in the Afternoon

morning-skies

Tuesday afternoon in the Year of Our Lord 2017: I’ve been on the road since after my morning post…Women’s Bible Study and after that errands…My morning song is still resonating in my little grey cells, and so are the apparitions of the morning Scripture passages…even though my reading was once through them…

…Praising God for safe return, and energy to disseminate the acquisitions of the day, tidying up after a somewhat plunderous riot of the whole process…

…And thankful for the joy and quiet to return to the readings…eager to connect the dots and to “time travel” between the pages…even in my dusty existence this side of Heaven…to discover a new layer of depth and counsel in the sanctuary of God’s Word today…

…As I record the ribbon of glory, my little grey cells are tingling at the glimpse of the polyvalent* glory to which God has granted me as a citizen of His Kingdom–a resident and servant in the Jerusalem waiting to be revealed at Messiah Jesus’ return…and yet, I live this glory, in part, in this time…

In my distress I cried to the LORD, and He heard me. Deliver my soul, O LORD, from lying lips and from a deceitful tongue…Woe is me…My soul has dwelt too long with one who hates peace.  I am for peace; but when I speak, they are for war…I will lift up my eyes to the hills—from whence comes my help? My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth…And [Naomi] said, ‘Look, your sister-in-law has gone back to her people and to her gods; return after your sister-in-law.’ But Ruth said: ‘Entreat me not to leave you, or to turn back from following after you; for wherever you go, I will go; and wherever you lodge, I will lodge; your people shall be my people, and your God, my God. Where you die, I will die, and there will I be buried. The LORD do so to me, and more also, if anything but death parts you and me…’ Unto You I lift up my eyes, O You who dwell in the heavens. Behold, as the eyes of servants look to the hand of their masters, as the eyes of a maid to the hand of her mistress, so our eyes look to the LORD our God, until He has mercy on us…I was glad when they said to me, ‘Let us go into the house of the LORD.’ Our feet have been standing within your gates, O Jerusalem.  Jerusalem is built as a city that is compact together, where the tribes go up, the tribes of the LORD, to the Testimony of Israel, to give thanks to the name of the LORD. For thrones are set there for judgment, the thrones of the house of David…Do not think that I came to destroy the Law or the Prophets. I did not come to destroy but to fulfill. For assuredly, I say to you, till heaven and earth pass away, one jot or one tittle will by no means pass from the law till all is fulfilled. Whoever therefore breaks one of the least of these commandments, and teaches men so, shall be called least in the kingdom of heaven; but whoever does and teaches them, he shall be called great in the kingdom of heaven. For I say to you, that unless your righteousness exceeds the righteousness of the scribes and Pharisees, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven…’ For our boasting is this: the testimony of our conscience that we conducted ourselves in the world in simplicity and godly sincerity, not with fleshly wisdom but by the grace of God, and more abundantly toward you. For we are not writing any other things to you than what you read or understand…But as God is faithful, our word to you was not Yes and No. For the Son of God, Jesus Christ, who was preached among you by us—by me, Silvanus, and Timothy—was not Yes and No, but in Him was Yes. For all the promises of God in Him are Yes, and in Him Amen, to the glory of God through us…Jerusalem is built as a city that is compact together, where the tribes go up, the tribes of the LORD, to the Testimony of Israel, to give thanks to the name of the LORD. For thrones are set there for judgment, the thrones of the house of David… You are the salt of the earth…You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven…’ Now I trust you will understand, even to the end (as also you have understood us in part), that we are your boast as you also are ours, in the day of the Lord Jesus...He who establishes us with you in Christ and has anointed us is God, who also has sealed us and given us the Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee…Pray for the peace of Jerusalem:

May they prosper who love you. Peace be within your walls, prosperity within your palaces.’

For the sake of my brethren and companions, I will now say, ‘Peace be within you.’ Because of the house of the Lord our God I will seek your good.”

[My ribbon of glory: Psalm 120.1-2,5-7;  121.1-2; Ruth 1.15-17; Psalm 123.1-2; 122.1-5;  Matthew 5.17-20; 2 Corinthians 1.12-13a,18-20; Matthew 5.13a,14-16; Psalm 122.3-5; 2 Corinthians 1.13b-14,21-22; Psalm 122.6-9]

…for such a time as this…

Blessings on your evening…may your sleep be filled with dreams of God’s greatness and glory…

 *polyvalent: a word I learned today in conversation with a seminary graduate on the very subject of the connected-ness of God’s Word, especially the layer upon layer of glory in all the pages of His-story…


Here is a link to view these passages: Scripture Passages in NKJV

On this link, you may also find a menu from which to choose alternate translations…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

