Georgetownrose

from glory to glory…

Morning Glory…

morning-skies…Waking up on a February morning to the praise and thanksgiving for God’s grace to rest…

…in a quiet room…in a clean, warm bed…

…the morning putter of waking up the house…the gathering of consciousness…the lifting of the cumbers of the layers of night …

…a moment of grace and glory plunging into the deep waters of the very Word of God…

I will sing of mercy and judgment: unto You, O LORD, will I sing…Hold not Your peace, O God of my praise; for the mouth of the wicked and the mouth of the deceitful are opened against me: they have spoken against me with a lying tongue. They compassed me about also with words of hatred; and fought against me without a cause. For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer. And they have rewarded me evil for good, and hatred for my love…I became also a reproach unto them: when they looked upon me they shaked their heads. Help me, O LORD my God: O save me according to Your mercy: that they may know that this if Your hand; that You, LORD, have done it…Let my adversaries be clothed with shame, and let them cover themselves with their own confusion, as with a mantle. I will greatly praise the LORD with my mouth; yea, I will praise Him among the multitude…”

–Psalm 101.1; 109.1-5,25-27,29-30 (KJV)

And they come again to Jerusalem: and as He was walking in the temple, there come to Him the chief priests, and the scribes, and the elders, and say unto Him, By what authority doest Thou these things? And who gave Thee this authority to do these things? And Jesus answered and said unto them, ‘I will also ask of you one question, and answer Me, and I will tell you by what authority I do these things. The baptism of John, was it from heaven, or of men? Answer Me’…And they answered and said unto Jesus, ‘We cannot tell.’ And Jesus answering said unto them, ‘Neither do I tell you by what authority I do these things.’

And He began to speak unto them by parables.

‘A certain man planted a vineyard, and set an hedge about it, and digged a place for the winefat, and built a tower, and let it out to husbandmen, and went into a far country. And at the season he sent to the husbandmen a servant, that he might receive from the husbandmen of the fruit of the vineyard. And they caught him, and beat him, and sent him away empty. And again he sent unto them another servant; and at him they cast stones, and wounded him in the head, and sent him away shamefully handled.

And again he sent another; and him they killed, and many others; beating some, and killing some. Having yet therefore one son, his wellbeloved, he sent him also last unto them, saying, They will reverence my son. But those husbandmen said among themselves, This is the heir; come, let us kill him, and the inheritance shall be ours.’ And they took him, and killed him, and cast him out of the vineyard.

‘What shall therefore the lord of the vineyard do? He will come and destroy the husbandmen, and will give the vineyard unto others. And have ye not read this scripture:

The stone which the builders rejected is become the head of the corner:

This was the Lord’s doing, and it is marvelous in our eyes?*

And they sought to lay hold on Him, but feared the people: for they knew that He had spoken the parable against them: and they left Him, and went their way…

–Mark 11.27-30,33;12.1-12 (KJV) *[11.10-11, Psalm 118.22-23]

Oh that You would rend the heavens, that You would come down, that the mountains might flow down at Your presence, as when the melting fire burns, the fire causes the waters to boil, to make Your name known to Your adversaries, that the nations may tremble at Your presence! When You did terrible things which we looked not for, You came down, the mountains flowed down at Your presence. For since the beginning of the world men have not heard, nor perceived by the ear, neither has the eye seen, O God, beside You, what He has prepared for him that waits for Him. You meet him that rejoices and works righteousness, those that remember You in Your ways…But we are all as an unclean thing, and all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags; and we all do fade as a leaf; and our iniquities, like the wind, have taken us away…

–from Isaiah’s prayer of supplication for the promised appearing of the Messiah, and a prayer of confession and lament: Isaiah 63.15-64.9

When I go back, now, and read the passage from Mark 11-12 above…GLORY BE TO GOD!…So clear…So seamless…So glorious…

This is the LORD’s glorious doing, and it is glorious in my eyes…

Here is a link to alternate translations of these passages: Scripture Passages, Bible Gateway

From this site, you may find a menu from which to select other translations…

Finally, for such a time as this, an exhortation to my heart to remember the glory in these days till Messiah returns…

These things write I unto you, hoping to come unto you shortly: but if I tarry long, that you may know how you ought to behave yourself in the house of God, which is the church of the living God, the pillar and ground of the truth. And without controversy great is the mystery of godliness: God was manifest in the flesh, justified in the Spirit, seen of angels, preached unto the Gentiles, believed on in the world, received up into glory.

–1 Timothy 3.14-16 (KJV)


Time to go now, and walk with Messiah in this day, in all the ordinary things and extraordinary things, bearing His glory…

…for such a time as this…

[NOTE: I’ve eased out the “thee’s” and “thou’s”  replacing them with “You” and “Your(s)” and put an uppercase “H”  or an uppercase “M” wherever the pronoun speaks of God.  In other places, I’ve also simplified the verbs which end in “eth.” (Did King “Jameth” have a “lithp?”)]

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

