Georgetownrose

from glory to glory…

The Heart of St. Valentine

heart-of-st-valentine2There’s a lot on my mind about this special day…

It’s special for me in multitudes of ways…

I remember my mother on this day. Once, when we were celebrating my birthday, she told me that when she was carrying me she hoped that I would be born on St. Valentine’s Day. Alas, God had other plans; I was born shy of that date. But that did not discourage my mother. When I was confirmed in the Roman Catholic Church at age 12, it was the custom for confirmands to take the name of a saint and martyr of the faith. My mother encouraged me to take the name Valentina, a feminine variant for St. Valentine. Being the obliging child that I was, I saw no problem with this, and took the name gladly…

I had very little knowledge, and less understanding at the time, of the true life and joy of St. Valentine…

Another way that this day is special to me is that I have another opportunity to bless my husband of 48 years with extra gestures of love and gratitude. So very thankful to God for giving me a man who loves me and makes me a better woman than I would be on my own…

In recent years, I’ve come to be more aware of who this man Valentine is. He was so committed to upholding Christian marriage that he prepared couples for their covenant vows and consecrated their commitment in a day when it was dangerous for the Church to do so…


st-valentine-history


And now, in my senior years, I understand more of the heart of a man who desired to leave the legacy of a love that can never be shaken or lost; this love can only be found in the Lord Jesus Christ. While Valentine was committed to preserving Christian marriage in the face of the emperor’s military recruitment agenda, he did so knowing that such a sacred bond was the type for the love of the Lord Jesus Christ for His Church. And he was bold to speak out for the love of Messiah Jesus…

scripture banner2 fb

There is another thought that I want to express to all the dear ones who read this blog–all the ones who are not married. If you are in Christ, this day is a special day to remember His love for you and to pass the message of Messiah Jesus on to others. Because this is the heart of St. Valentine…

st-valentine-verse

And as one who has been confirmed in the faith of the Lord Jesus Christ, having taken the name of this witness for my Lord and King,  here is my prayer for you on this commemoration of the life and ministry of St. Valentine…

st-valentines-prayer

…for such a time as this…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

