Georgetownrose

from glory to glory…

Boasting in Weakness, Part 1…

In our Community Bible Study of 1 and 2 Corinthians, our local group is examining 2 Corinthians 11 last week… In part of that chapter, the Apostle Paul was pleading his case with the Corinthian church about the veracity of his ministry among them–because they were essentially comparing him with other, more charismatic personalities, and also questioning his integrity… So he wrote them a note reminding them of how God had directed his behavior and his heart while he was among them… He “boasted” reminding them that he had suffered for bearing the name of Messiah Jesus more than others to whom the Corinthians had begun gravitating and admiring. Even the Jewish leaders had rejected him…

…For as Messiah Himself declared to Ananias who questioned the integrity of Saul at his conversion: “…for he is a chosen vessel of Mine to bear My name before the Gentiles, kings and the children of Israel. For I will show him how many things he must suffer for My name’s sake” (Acts 9.15-16)

Saint_Paul_Ananias_Sight_Restored2

Paul’s Sight Restored by Ananias

…And Paul boasted in weakness…

If I must boast, I will boast in the things which concern my infirmity.

–2 Corinthians 11.30

…Here’s what grabbed me by the kishkes this week. Our study guide directed us to consult Acts 9.19-25, where we read in more detail about the death threat on Paul’s life while teaching of Messiah Jesus in Damascus, another danger about which Paul spoke in 2 Corinthians 11.32-33. The question posed to us was this: “How might Paul have felt about this exit? How does it illustrate his posture of boasting in the things which concerned his weakness?

…I had to think a moment, but it occurred to me that right from the moment when  he realized Jesus of Nazareth has all the authority in Heaven and earth, and that he–Saul of Tarsus–had become a chosen vessel of the Messiah of Israel, he had to feel grateful to God for giving him the chance to preach Jesus more to others…

…To live another day to honor Yeshua the Messiah…

YIKES!!!!

Then I had to ask myself the question: Do I feel like that when I wake up in the morning?…

Changes my whole perspective to one which is eternal in the here-and-now…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

