Georgetownrose

from glory to glory…

from glory to glory…

Intellectually, I know that we are all aging; but emotionally I feel like I am the only one who is. Buried deep in the struggles and fears and griefs of my aging process emerges my prayer for understanding and purpose amid the cultural aversion to being an aging human:
“What good can possibly come out of the aches and pains and decelerating pace of life–all conditions which are congenital, intrinsic, and inevitable in my aging?”
Gently, quietly comes this answer…
“The more my earthen vessel cracks and erodes, the more of the enduring treasure I was formed by God to hold becomes exposed…”
for His glory…

But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellence of the power may be of God and not of us.
–2 Corinthians 4.7
If you are feeling like a crumbling rock, today, hope this little “aha” moment of mine will bless you and quiet your fears of growing older in a culture which worships at the altar of the six-pack abs.
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

