Georgetownrose

from glory to glory…

Handwritten Journal Entry – November 2014

I penned the following journal entry in the space of 20 minutes during our monthly Ladies’ Spiritual Journaling group. The topic is usually fortified with quotes from the Scriptures and from other wise sayings. Sometimes there is a brief introductory commentary, and always, there are questions upon which we can hang our thoughts as we approach our journaling time together.

I have to say it took me more time to type this from my handwritten notes than it did to write with my pen in my journal notebook… This is the truth as I live and breathe…


Speaking the Truth in Love…For Such a Time as This

A true witness delivers souls, but a deceitful witness speaks lies. –Proverbs 14.25

Because with lies you have made the heart of the righteous sad, whom I have not made sad; and you have strengthened the hands of the wicked, so that he does not turn from his wicked way to save his life. –Ezekiel 13.22

…That we should no longer be children, tossed to and fro and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, in the cunning craftiness of deceitful plotting, but, speaking the truth in love, may grow up in all things into Him who is the head–Christ… –Ephesians 4.14-15

And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. –John 8.32

These are among the many Scripture passages which remind me and exhort me to stand courageous to protect what is true and to guard the hearts of others from deceiving ideas…

All ideas have consequences…

I can think of all the times I have had spinach in my teeth, or a bit of breakfast stopped on my cheek on the way to my mouth, or my blouse had one button which escaped being fastened; and people whom I believed were my friends never spoke a word to alert me that my appearance was less than tidy. I remember my private shame and humiliation that I had been left uncorrected for all this minor error to be seen in public–for ridicule.  Somehow, it seemed I wasn’t worth being told the truth about my error. My friends did not think enough of me to protect me from humiliation in just this small way…

…How much more my life, my eternal soul in the holy gaze of God?…

I can remember the hurt and betrayal I have felt when I’ve discovered someone whose counsel I’ve valued has lied to me–pulled a political device with others in their circle to avoid telling me the truth, because they were afraid to tell it. My character and friendship over years of relationship played no part in encouraging them to be forthright with me instead of being evasive and deceptive… This for some smaller principle of life…

…How much more grievous would it be in regard to my eternal destiny?…

There are those who say they are Christians who somehow have the idea that the TRUTH is not loving when it comes to speaking the Truth to those enslaved to ungodly social behaviors. Truth and love in many Christians’ minds are like oil and water. When did that happen?…

If the truth really does set one free–and Jesus says it does–why would I not speak out on an eternal issue in my own world, in a culture locked in battle with the Deceiver himself? His aim is to persuade men to find consolation, comfort, ease, pleasure, significance, meaningfulness, in alternatives to the Truth–alternatives to what God has said is freedom–true freedom–not slavery or bondage to an appetite which the Deceiver has enticed mankind to satisfy… And it does not… And it grieves the heart of the God who made us; it grieves the faithful who desire to walk in what is true, to know the freedom of peace with the heart of God…

The truth is that in order for me to be willing to speak truth lovingly and boldly into the lives of others in this age of cultural alternatives, I must cultivate the heart of God for the lives and souls of others. I must care more for planting the seed of truth for breaking the chain of their bondage, more than caring for my own comfort zone, or for how they are going to react initially to my speaking the truth…

We renounce no friendship. But it may be the part of a friend to rebuke a friend’s folly. –J.R.R. Tolkien, “Silmarillion”

TRUTH: it’s the new hate speech. –unknown

During times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a revolutionary act. –George Orwell

The worst thing about being lied to is knowing that you’re not worth the truth. –unknown

The truth shall set you free…but first it shall piss you off. –Gloria Steinem

The truth may offend; that’s not my fault…as long as I give no offense in speaking it…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

