Georgetownrose

from glory to glory…

Go Ahead; Make My Day!

Out of my distress I called on the Lordthe Lord answered me and set me free. –Psalm 118.5

My week was rolling with joy having enormous fun preparing for a children’s Sunday School class–more fun than I’ve had in a very long time. Everything was prepared for their busy little hands and their hungry minds. It was late, very late, but I was elated before I retired for bed in the wee hours of Sunday morning. One would think that, with the wash of elation and anticipation of the session with the K through 2nd graders, sleep would evade me and my mind would gallop onward driven by the excitement of sharing with these young minds. Not so. I was at perfect peace and able to surrender the experience with thanksgiving and trust to God’s watchful care; and so I slept–until…

…You know, the usual nocturnal call–nothing extraordinary about that; but when I turned to rise to answer it, the room began spinning like the panning sequences you see in some movies. I closed my eyes and flexed my neck and shoulders, to no avail; the room kept spinning out of control…I grabbed my cane and carefully navigated the short hall back and forth between bath and bed with a temporary relief from the vertigo. But when I crawled ever so carefully back into bed, and turned to my side to lie down and sleep, the room began to spin at an unearthly speed. I actually felt like I was standing still, yet feeling every bit of earth’s 1500-mile-per-hour spin on its axis… Settling back in bed, the room mercifully stopped spinning long enough for me to sleep another two hours before my alarm would wake me to rise and prepare to go to church. I thought when I woke that the vertigo was past; my meditation and prayer to God had put it to flight, until…

I turned to rise from bed; the earth was asserting its spin on my room again. I was first a bit alarmed, wondering what could have caused this sudden attack. Then, I was crestfallen at the thought my day would be altered and the joy of being with the young children in Sunday School would be taken from my day. I cried, “Conspiracy!” Then I called our church’s 24/7 prayer line for prayer…

“FOOL!” you say. “You should be calling 911! You could be having a heart attack–or a stroke!” Yes, I suppose that is always possible; but I wasn’t so absolutely sure of such a dramatic event as that. Anyway, I reasoned, if I die today I would rather die passing on my LIFE in Jesus to the next generation than anything else. So, I thought, “Go ahead; make my day!”  So I prayed with my friend on the phone. She, in turn, passed my distress and my need on to others in my church family who minister in prayer. I waited. I tried to slowly exercise my body in some delicately executed stretches, which helped everything except the spinning in the room. I was fine; it was the room that was in trouble, as far as I was concerned…

I waited, moving about with my cane for support as the room refused to settle down. Although my footing proved to be secure, I did not trust my ability to drive. With that unfortunate technicality in mind, I called my teacher partner. Voice mail. Left her a message about the possibility she would  need to recruit a helper and to be prepared to teach the class if I could not arrive in time to set up the classroom. Nearly half an hour had passed since my prayers were spoken in one accord with my friend on the prayer line. I began to consider hiring a taxi to drive me to church, or just resigning myself to the victory of spiritual opposition throwing a wet blanket on my day. Until…

I noticed something was changing; the feelings in my stomach changed from an edgy quease to more of a quiet suggestion of hunger. In the moments following, I found relief from the earth’s intrepid rotation on its axis. The wild ride had come to an end. I could move; I could bend to dress; I could–DRIVE…

First thing I thought of were my friends on the prayerline who needed an update; no sense keeping them occupied in earnest intercession for me when God had already answered our prayers. I called my friend with my news. I was humbled to hear her answer me that she had been standing in the kitchen asking God over and over again, “Please, Father, make this go away so she can go and teach the children!” She was as ecstatic as I was, and dismissed me with a blessing to get ready and go…

God did not disappoint me. My teaching partner and I were like cream in coffee–smooth and energizing. Our activities and story time went better than I can remember from some years past…DID WE HAVE FUN??? YES! WE. HAD. FUN! Knee deep in the Word of God at the waters of the Jordan River with Jesus and John, God the Father and the Holy Spirit, God made my day…

…And if I die today, I will die having served my Lord and Love, Jesus Christ, exactly the way He has formed me to serve…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

