Georgetownrose

from glory to glory…

Clearing the deck…

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/sweeping-motions/

What’s messier right now — your bedroom or you computer’s desktop (or your favorite device’s home screen)? Tell us how and why it got to that state.

Funny you should ask. Very timely…

My blogging efforts for the past week or so have abandoned the laundry basket and the little heaps of papers and resources I have kept digging about to consult. The piles on my work space at my computer have kept growing, spilling over to other places in my blogging/crafting studio and beginning to form other towers of neglected matter. All the while in the back of this mind which prefers order, I have made mental notes of warning to prioritize managing them. Even as I write there is a load of laundry in the washer waiting to be moved to the dryer to make way for the next load to wash…

Don’t think I am blaming this wonderful activity of writing for my derelict behavior to put things where they belong and take a maintenance break. It’s all my procrastinating fault. Somehow, stopping in the middle of a cogent thought worthy of blogging to sort through my little messes is too unsettling; it’s disturbing, in fact. I regard the demand to keep everything neat as a pin as an unwelcome and rude intrusion on my thoughts at a time in my life when I feel it is far more important to communicate and engage others than to excel at neatness…

Pat-officeBut there is a limit. At some point the mess becomes an impediment to my ability to think and to work; it’s like loud, cacophonous noise. My little grey cells are allergic to confusion and chaos and their “flight or fight” response to these adversaries of thought  is always “flight.”

Almost instinctively, considering I might be accountable to others this morning for my neglect, I put my hands to work to sort through the accumulation to file and discard; to sort the laundry and order it for the day between my errands and blogs entries…

Now it’s time for breakfast. My little grey cells are going to go get fed–in an orderly kitchen… 🙂

May all my reading friends out there in the big wide world find a bit of order in all the messiness of this world. Blessings all around.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Clearing the deck…

  1. I completely understand what you are saying. I never know how long God will have me sit and develop my daily writing, but it is always longer than I plan for! I am finding I need a new schedule so I can get to work, school, and keep up,with life’s demands. Keep on keeping on my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

